The business was born on the hills between Spilamberto and Castelvetro. This territory has a great history and it boasts a very important artistic heritage.
One of the first settlements in the territory goes back to Prehistory. In fact, in the vicinity of the river Panaro, numerous prehistoric furnishings and burials have been discovered.
The real origin of Spilamberto goes back to 1210 when Modena municipality, in order to tackle the raids of Bologna troops, decided to build in this place a castle equipped with a wall that circumscribed the area of the current historical center of the town. During the all the Modern Age the core center of Spilamberto has been the fortress, an element of great prestige and pride for the citizens. Rangoni family has been the most important and well-known family in Spilamberto (from the 14th century), using the fortress as a summer residence, where recreational and merry events took place.
In addition to the fortress, the city of Spilamberto boasts more beautiful buildings, such as the churches of San Vito and Sant’Adriano. The two churches face each other’s in the city center at the intersection of the two main roads.
Besides the fortress and the churches other important buildings of Spilamberto are the following:
- Bargello Palace (former silk cocoon market)
- Pretorio Palace and stables
Nowadays, in Spilamberto you can find one of the most renowned museum of the region: The balsamic vinegar of Modena museum.
The most interesting historical testimonies of the territory date back to the Etruscan civilization, unveiling one the most important settlement in the Province of Modena. This civilization arrived firstly in Savignano, through a route called Via Claudia, and then in Valle del Guerro, where Castelvetro rose up.
The most ancient fortifications of Castelvetro date back to the 10th century, however what is left of the current fortress wall is from the 11th – 12th centuries. Nowadays it is still possible to admire the northern walls (the most ancient ones), the southeastern walls (13th and 14th century) and the preserved southern and western walls.
The threshold of the hamlet, located on the east side, was torn down in September 1876 to facilitate the access to the castle.
The must-see buildings are:
- Clock Tower (13thcentury)
- Prison Tower (14th – 15th centuries)
- Castle of Levizzano Rangone (9th century)
- Rangoni Palace (14thcentury)
- Parish Church of SS. Senesio and Teopompo (10th century)
- Oratory of San Michele (10th- 11th centuries)